PhD position on acoustic seabed mapping at the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences in cooperation with University Ghent, Ifremer and FPS Economy

The Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences (RBINS) is recruiting a PhD Student for a fixed-term contract of maximum 4 years

The PhD project focuses on acoustic seabed mapping to monitor good environmental status of marine waters within Europe’s Marine Strategy Framework Directive (MSFD). The position is offered under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Vera Van Lancker (RBINS/Ghent University), Dr. Marc Roche (FPS Economy) and Dr. Xavier Lurton (Ifremer). To apply we require your motivation letter, two letters of reference and an extended CV (with eventual publications and thesis) before 31 May 2015. The PhD will be promoted at Ghent University, Department of Geology.  

For questions and application:

Short description
Aim of the PhD is: (1) to investigate the precision, sensitivity and repeatability of multibeam bathymetry and backscatter for the monitoring of habitat changes; (2) to examine the external sources of variance in acoustic signatures (e.g. water column processes); (3) to relate acoustic signatures to sediment properties and seafloor integrity, a key descriptor in MSFD; and (4) to design joint seabed mapping practices amongst the main players in Belgium and beyond.

The research involves data acquisition at sea for testing of different techniques and monitoring strategies.

Latest start date is 1 September 2015.

Best regards,
Vera Van Lancker

Dr. Vera Van Lancker
Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences. Operational Directorate Natural Environment (OD Nature)
Gulledelle 100, 1200 Brussels, Belgium
Tel. +32 (0)2 773 21 29     Fax +32 (0)2 770 69 72
Email: (replace "+" by "@"). Website;

Exploring our geological resources in the 5th dimension: The TILES project:

Add new comment

You must have Javascript enabled to use this form.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith